UC Hastings Pilipino American Law Society (PALS)

Robert T. Matsui Annual Writing Competition by id4960993.sexyadj.website
April 14, 2008, 8:13 pm
Filed under: Career Opportunities

The Robert T. Matsui Annual Writing Competition was established by AEF in 2005 to honor the late Congressman Robert T. Matsui and his many accomplishments. Through this writing competition, AEF seeks to encourage legal scholarship on issues of importance to the Asian Pacific American legal community and, more generally, the publication of law review articles on topics of relevance to racial and ethnic minorities and the law.

The competition is open to all law students nationwide in the United States and, in future years, may be expanded to include attorneys as well. Submissions for the 2008 competition must be received by June 1, 2008, and the winner will be announced by September 1, 2008. Submissions must be original works and not previously published. The winner of the 2008 competition will receive a monetary award of fifteen hundred dollars ($1,500), and the winning entry will be published by the Asian Pacific American Law Journal, at the University of California, Los Angeles School of Law.

A graduate of the University of California at Berkeley and the Hastings College of the Law, Congressman Matsui was first elected to the United States Congress in 1978 from Sacramento, California. He won re-election to Congress 13 times. Congressman Matsui was a strong supporter of AEF, serving as the keynote speaker for the Annual Benefit Dinner in 1997 and again in 2003.

A number of prominent scholars, practitioners and jurists nationwide have agreed to serve on the competition’s Board of Advisers, including Justice Ming W. Chin of the Supreme Court of California; U.S. Attorney Debra W. Yang of the Central District of California, who keynoted the 2005 Annual Benefit Dinner; Georgetown Law Professor and former Assistant U.S. Attorney General Viet D. Dinh; Vincent A. Eng, Deputy Driector of the Asian American Justice Center and an adjunct law professor at American University, Washington Colleg of Law; UCLA Law Professor Jerry Kang; Paul Igasaki, former Vice-Chair of the U.S. Equal Employment Opportunity Commission; and Michael P. Chu and John C. Yang, past presidents of the National Asian Pacific American Bar Association.

To apply, please click here to download a 2008 competition application. For more information about the competition, please click here. For information about the 2007 winner, please click here.


Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: