UC Hastings Pilipino American Law Society (PALS)


Meet Tamina Alon, Student by Paul Rivera
July 30, 2008, 11:06 pm
Filed under: PALS Updates

One our members, and 2008 graduate Tamina Alon was recently featured on the U.C. Hastings website.  Good luck on the Bar exam Tamina, and the rest of our 2008 class!

[via UC Hastings]

Tamina is not your typical law student. To begin with, she comes from a long line of doctors and engineers. Her decision to pursue the law only came after she had explored a variety of other fields at different universities across the United States, including UC Berkeley. “Most universities just really don’t know how to deal with non-traditional students, especially parents,” observes Tamina, a mother of two sons, ages seven and eight. “But at Hastings, they go out of their way to help you succeed. I immediately felt at home here.”

Like any law school worth going to, UC Hastings is packed with brilliant minds that enjoy healthy competition. Unlike the image of a stereotypical law school, there’s an incredible sense of camaraderie here. I was out sick one day and I had six of my classmates email me their notes. And the faculty are completely approachable. I’ve had professors invite my entire section home for dinner and invite my kids over to bake cookies together. I’m a parent with two kids, yet at UC Hastings I’ve enjoyed an amazing full law school experience. I’ve been the secretary of the Filipino American Law Society and president of Parents at UC Hastings. I’ve co-authored a published paper with Professor Joan Williams at the Center for WorkLife Law. I’ve worked as a law clerk for the Berkeley City Attorney. I just landed an externship with a judge at the Superior Court. Before applying here, I spent several years trying to find an institution, a community, I was comfortable with.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

